When the system detects vehicle motion greater than 4.5 MPH and any of the following:
- the tablet does not have a driver logged in;
- the tablet is un-docked;
- the tablet is powered off;
- the tablet is put to sleep;
the drive time cannot be associated with any driver. This scenario creates an Unidentified Driving Log (UDL) which is associated with the Unidentified Driving profile. These events will be presented to the next driver to log into that asset for review. If the unidentified events belong to the active driver, they can be accepted. If they belong to a different driver, they can be rejected.
If the vehicle is in motion, the tablet needs to remain docked. Un-docking the tablet will generate an Unidentified Driving event when the tablet is re-docked.
The following is an example of an Unidentified Driving Log that must be accepted or rejected.
If a UDL occurs today or within the previous seven (7) days, you are prompted to accept or reject those logs when you log into the tablet. You can accept the UDL, which is then added to your logs. After accepting a UDL, you must re-certify the logs for the day the entry was inserted.
If you do not recognize the UDL, you can reject the entry. The UDL is then removed from your view and will not be presented again. The UDL remains associated to the asset and is presented to each new driver that logs in. The UDL is also shown in Roadside View for any logged in driver under the View tab if it occurred within the previous eight (8) days.
Dispatchers can always view UDLs in Ground Traffic Control and assign them to the appropriate driver or justify them with a “No Driver” reason. See the Driver Logs for ELD or No Driver Reason article for more information.
When you accept a UDL, this action will be accompanied by drive time that is uneditable and an On Duty event that can be edited.
Previewing Unidentified Driving Logs
When you accept a UDL into your logs, it alters your available time. To see how the UDL will affect your logs, tap the Preview changes button. A window will pop up showing you how your logs will look before and after the UDL is accepted.
To return to the UDL to accept or reject it, tap the X in the upper right corner.
The dark green section is the UDL, while the light green sections are the rest of your logs. The logs after the UDL will always switch to On Duty; if the logs after should be something different, such as Off Duty, the On Duty event can be edited to the correct duty status once the UDL is accepted.
The Original log section shows your driver logs for the relevant day as they are currently. The dark green section is the part that will be affected by accepting the UDL, while the light green sections are the rest of your logs.
Unassigning Unidentified Driving
If you accidentally accept a UDL which has drive time that does not belong to you, you can unassign the log by finding it in your list view and tapping the Edit pencil , similar to editing logs.
Enter an annotation in the Notes field explaining why this driving log is being unassigned. An annotation is required to unassign logs.
Once an annotation is entered, tap the Unassign button. This button is only available on events that were previously flagged as unassigned.
A confirmation box will appear asking you to verify that the event is not part of your logs and will be returned to Unidentified Driving Log status. Tap Confirm to unassign the log or Cancel to keep the log.
Certain events that are automatically associated during the time in which an unidentified event is being captured such as power on, power off, diagnostics and malfunctions cannot be accepted by the driver. These events remain at the unidentified profile level and can only be seen when exported out to a law enforcement officer.